Railway Jobs

Railway Jobs

25 October, 2016

Find here latest Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) offered Railway Jobs 2016.  RRBs calls eligible Indian Citizens through Employment News for recruitment of various Technical, Non-Technical and Para Medical Posts in Group A, B, C and D Cadres through Online Application / Offline Application Format.

Muvsijobs update latest Indian Railway Recruitment 2016 Jobs list on this page. Railway Recruitment Control Board (RRCB) works under Government of India under Ministry of Railways. RRCB under Railway recruiting boards  calling various posts / vacancies through direct recruitment and competitive examinations for every year. There are 19 Railway Recruitment Boards that are functioning at present.

Railway Recruitment Posts Overview

There are two types of groups in RRB recruitment category. Gazetted (Group ‘A’ and ‘B’) and Non-Gazetted (Group ‘C’ and ‘D’).

Group ‘A’ Posts –> Group A posts is carried out by UPSC – appointed through Civil Service Exam, Engineering Service Exam, and Combined Medical Service Examination.

Group ‘B’ Posts –> These are upgraded posts from Group ‘C’ railway employees on deputation basis. These posts are not offered publicly.

Group ‘C’ Posts –> Technical and Non-Technical cadre posts like Clerk, Station Master, Ticket Collector, Commercial Apprentice, Traffic Apprentice, Engineering posts (Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, Signal & Telecommunication) etc.

Group ‘D’ Posts –> These posts in various disciplines include Trackman, Helper, Assistant Points Man, Safaiwala / Safaiwali, Gunman, Peon etc.

Recruitment against Quota

RRB also recruits personnel as Sports Quota, Scouts & Guides Quota and Cultural Quota.

Educational Qualifications Required for Railway Jobs

Minimum 10th class pass or ITI or equivalent trade for Group C & D Posts. Graduate / Post Graduate are must for Group A & B Posts.

Selection Procedure for Railway Jobs

RRB recruits through Written Examination. Normally there is no Interview (Viva Voce) after the written examination. For a very few specific categories in Group A & B, there is a Viva after the written exam. For other specific categories, there is a Skill Test (like typing test or stenography test) and for categories related to operational safety like Assistant Station Master, Assistant Loco Pilot, there will be an Aptitude Test.

Indian Railways Latest Government Jobs Recruitment Opening 2016-17: (Last updated on 23rd October 2016)

Name of the Zone


Name of the Posts

Last Date for Apply

Details Link

     East Central                 Railways


Sports quota in Indian Railways

28 November


Full Details>>

North Central Railways



21 November 2016

Full Details>>

Eastern Railway

Scout Guide Quota (Group C and Group D)


Full Details>>

Railway Board

Various Directors


Full Details>>

North Central Railway

Cultural Quota 2016-17


Full Details>>

Gujarat Metro Rail

Director in Project and Planning


Full Details>>

Railway Board



Full Details>>

Indian Railway Recruitment Zones: Indian Railways organizational structure is divided into 17 zones, which are further sub-divided into various city wise divisions. All RRBs official website links and contact E-Mail List Visit – http://www.rrcb.gov.in/rrbs.html

1. Central Railway (CR) – Mumbai
2. East Central Railway (ECR) – Hajipur
3. East Coast Railway (ECoR) – Bhubaneswar
4. Eastern Railway (ER) – Kolkata
5. North Central Railway (NCR) – Allahabad
6. North Eastern Railway (NER) – Gorakhpur
7. North Western Railway (NWR) –  Jaipur
8. Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) –     Guwahati
9. Northern Railway Railway (NR) – Delhi
10. South Central Railway (SCR) – Secunderabad
11. South East Central Railway (SECR) – Bilaspur
12. South Eastern Railway (SER) – Kolkata
13. South Western Railway (SWR) – Hubli
14. Southern Railway (SR) – Chennai
15. West Central Railway (WCR) – Jabalpur
16. Western Railway (WR) – Mumbai
17. Metro Railway, Kolkata  – Kolkata

Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs) Official Website List:

RRB Ahmedabad

RRB Ajmer

RRB Allahabad

RRB Bangalore

RRB Bhopal

RRB Bhubaneshwar

RRB Bilaspur

RRB Chandigarh

RRB Chennai

RRB Gorakhpur

RRB Guwahati

RRB Jammu

RRB Kolkata

RRB Malda

RRB Mumbai

RRB Muzaffarpur

RRB Patna

RRB Ranchi

RRB Secunderabad

RRB Siliguri

RRB Trivendrum